What is website WCAG conformance?

Web accessibility guidelines.

What is website WCAG conformance?

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are a set of international standards that define how to make web content accessible to everyone, including people with disabilities. The WCAG are developed and maintained by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

The WCAG are organized into four principles:

Perceivable: Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive.

Operable: User interface components and navigation must be operable.

Understandable: Information and the operation of the user interface must be understandable.

Robust: Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies.

The WCAG are organized into guidelines, each of which contains testable success criteria. The guidelines are organized at three levels of conformance: A, AA, and AAA.

The WCAG are an important resource for digital designers, web developers, and web agencies because they provide a common language for discussing accessibility and a shared understanding of what accessibility means.

Digital designers and web developers can use the WCAG to:

  • Evaluate the accessibility of existing web content.
  • Plan the accessibility of new web content.
  • Ensure that web content meets the needs of people with disabilities.


We can help make your site more accessible and become conformant with accessibility guidelines! Get in touch to find out how.

Stay updated on news & learning resources on web design, development and web accessibility!

Be social